CanadaGAP announces stakeholder advisory committee

CanadaGAP has announced the stakeholder advisory committee members for 2020.


The committee's role is to:

  • Review proposed revisions and updates to the CanadaGAP food safety manuals and HACCP models, as required
  • Review updates to the CanadaGAP Audit Checklist
  • Review other technical matters related to the CanadaGAP program (e.g., self-assessment checklist and declaration of conformity, auditor training materials, etc.)


The board appointed two new members (Simran Bains and Hayden Dooney) and four returning members (Jeff Hall, Stéphanie Levasseur, James Sefton, and Quinton Woods). Cathy McKay, a director on the CanAgPlus board, was reappointed as committee chair. All other individuals are returning members.




Nominations to the stakeholder advisory committee are accepted annually. Interested candidates are encouraged to apply through the nomination process each summer. 



For more information, visit the CanadaGAP website at:


Source:  CanadaGAP December 12, 2019 news release

Publish date: 
Thursday, December 12, 2019

Click to leave a comment

For security purposes, please confirm you are not a robot!


The Grower wins three awards

The Canadian Farm Writers’ Federation has honoured The Grower in the categories of photography and electronic audio (podcasts) in its first-ever virtual awards.

Soil fertility specialist appointed in Ontario

Dr. Tejendra Chapagain has been hired by the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs to work with horticultural farmers on cover crops and soil fertility matters. He brings global experience in Nepal and Japan to the role as well as diverse field experience in Canada. 

DRC announces leadership changes

The Fruit and Vegetable Dispute Resolution Corporation has announced that Luc Mougeot will become the new president and CEO on January 1, 2021. He will replace the retiring Fred Webber, who has held the role since 2011. 

Mike Ecker, winner of CPMA Lifetime Achievement Award

The Canadian Produce Marketing Association is honouring Mike Ecker, president of Vineland Growers’ Co-operative, for his 45-year career in the produce industry. 

OPMA welcomes two new board members

The Ontario Produce Marketing Association has two new board directors:  Fiona McLean, Del Fresco Produce and Michael Wexler, the Oppenheimer Group. They will serve a three-year term.