CHC announces 2019 board of directors

Brian Gilroy, president, Canadian Horticultural Council

The Canadian Horticultural Council has some new faces at the table for 2019.  Ontario apple grower Brian Gilroy remains president while Ontario greenhouse cucumber grower Jan VanderHout moves into the vice-president’s role. 


They are joined by the following directors:  Marcus Janzen and Peter Simonsen, British Columbia; Beth Connery and David Hoekstra, Prairies; Bill George, Ontario; Stephanie Levasseur and Jocelyn St-Denis, Quebec; Gerald Dykerman and one more to be announced for the Maritimes.  

Chairs of the various committees are as follows:


Ken Forth, Trade and Marketing Committee

Mark Wales, Business Risk Management Committee

Nathan Warkentin, Energy, Environment and Climate Change Committee

Jody Mott, Industry Standards and Food Safety Committee

Beth Connery, Labour Committee

Jason Smith, Crop, Plant Protection and Environment Committee 

Linda Delli Santi, Greenhouse Committee

Joanne Driscoll, Vegetable Committee

Bill Zylmans, Potato Committee

Brian Gilroy, Apple and Fruit Committee


The next annual general meeting will be held from March 10-12, 2020 in Ottawa.

If latest news: 
Check if it is latest news (for "Latest News" page)
Publish date: 
Saturday, March 9, 2019

Click to leave a comment

For security purposes, please confirm you are not a robot!


Davis Yung to chair 2020-21 CPMA board of directors

Just like the industry itself, Davis Yung brings a dynamic leadership style to the Canadian Produce Marketing Association. Its diverse membership is comprised of every segment of the produce industry supply chain which is responsible for 90 per cent of the fresh fruit and vegetable sales in Canada. 

Virtual New Product Showcase awards announced

The Virtual New Product Showcase honours four product categories: the organic product award, packaging innovation award, best snackable product and best new product award. The Little Potato Company’s Easy Sides won best new product. 

New chair for Ontario Farm Products Marketing Commission

Pork and chicken producer Amy Cronin has been appointed chair of the Ontario Farm Products Marketing Commission for a two-year term. 

Nature Fresh Farms hires director of marketing

Seasoned advertising veteran Stephanie Swatkow is the new director of marketing for greenhouse grower Nature Fresh Farms. 

The Grower columnist interviewed on CBC Radio

In the May issue of The Grower, columnist Owen Roberts put forward a perspective that’s not often heard in the mainstream media. And that’s the view that  foreign workers are professionals. CBC Radio contacted him for a series of cross-Canada interviews on April 28.