Conservative shadow cabinet named

Erin O’Toole, the new leader of the federal Conservative party, named his shadow cabinet on September 8. 


Ontario MP Lianne Rood (Lambton-Kent-Middlesex) keeps her role of shadow minister for agriculture and agri-food. Elected in the fall of 2019, the newcomer has made her mark in the ensuing months. She replaced MP John Barlow (Foothills). She comes from a farm in the Grand Bend area. 


Peter Kent (Thornhill) becomes shadow minister for employment, workforce development and disability inclusion


Raquel Dancho (Kildonan-St. Paul Manitoba) is responsible for following the file on immigration, refugees and citizenship.


James Cumming (Edmonton Centre, Alberta) will be shadowing innovation, science and industry.


Luc Berthold (Mégantic-L’Érable, Quebec) is on the treasury board file. 


For the entire list, go here:

If latest news: 
Check if it is latest news (for "Latest News" page)
Publish date: 
Tuesday, September 8, 2020

Click to leave a comment

For security purposes, please confirm you are not a robot!


DRC announces leadership changes

The Fruit and Vegetable Dispute Resolution Corporation has announced that Luc Mougeot will become the new president and CEO on January 1, 2021. He will replace the retiring Fred Webber, who has held the role since 2011. 

Mike Ecker, winner of CPMA Lifetime Achievement Award

The Canadian Produce Marketing Association is honouring Mike Ecker, president of Vineland Growers’ Co-operative, for his 45-year career in the produce industry. 

OPMA welcomes two new board members

The Ontario Produce Marketing Association has two new board directors:  Fiona McLean, Del Fresco Produce and Michael Wexler, the Oppenheimer Group. They will serve a three-year term.

Two appointed to Ontario Food Terminal board

The provincial government has announced three-year terms for two new appointees to the board. One is John Den Boer, a southwest Ontario grower who is president of the Toronto Farmers’ Association.

New Ontario deputy minister of agriculture, food and rural affairs named

John Kelly, the former executive director of the Ontario Fruit & Vegetable Growers’ Association, becomes the new deputy minister of agriculture, food and rural affairs.