CPMA’s new board

Sam Silvestro, past chair, CPMA

The Canadian Produce Marketing Association (CPMA) has announced its new Board of Directors. The board was elected at the Annual General Meeting, held during CPMA’s 92nd Annual Convention and Trade Show, May 9 to 11 in Toronto.

The Executive Committee members of the board are:

Chair Rick Alcocer, Duda Farm Fresh Foods, Inc.

Past Chair Sam Silvestro, Sam Silvestro Consulting Company

1st Vice Chair Les Mallard, Chiquita Brands North America

2nd Vice Chair Oleen Smethurst, Costco Wholesale Canada

Executive Committee Member:  Davis Yung, Fresh Direct Produce Ltd.

 “I’m privileged to lead CPMA over the next year,” said new chair Rick Alcocer. “During my term, I plan to focus on CPMA’s three pillars: CONNECT, ADVOCATE and GROW. Within those pillars, I will work with the industry on three key areas of importance: food safety; open and free trade; and member growth and development.”

“It was an honour to have been chair of CPMA,” said past chair Sam Silvestro. “Over the last year we were able to make progress in areas such as food safety, with a dedicated resource, industry education, through our training programs, and consumer health, through the Half Your Plate program.”

“CPMA’s strength lies in the involvement of the produce industry in our association. Our Board of Directors is integral to that success. Through alternating directors, we benefit from the changing perspectives of many different industry professionals on our board,” said CPMA president Ron Lemaire. “As we enter our 93rd year, we look forward to working to achieve our goals and continuing to be the voice of the produce industry in Canada.”

In addition to the Executive Committee members, here are the members of CPMA’s 2017/2018 Board of Directors:

Murray Driediger, BC Fresh Vegetables Inc.

 George Pitsikoulis, Canadawide Fruit Wholesalers Inc.

 Byron Bellows, Colemans Food Centres

Guy Milette, Courchesne Larose Ltee.

 Steve Bamford, Fresh Advancements

 John Corsaro, The Guimarra Companies

 David Dube, Krown Produce

Frank Gambioli, Loblaw Companies

Mimmo Franzone, Longo Brothers Fruit Markets Inc.

 Mario Masellis, M.L. Catania Co. Ltd.

 Tim York, Markon Cooperative Inc.

Joe Sbrocchi, Mastronardi Produce Ltd.

Steve Boulianne, Metro Richilieu Inc.


Andrea Palmer, Nova Agri Inc.

Steve Young, The Oppenheimer Group


Kendra Mills, PEI Potato Board


Brian Hampton, The Produce People Ltd.


Michele McMillan, Sobeys National Procurement


Keith Kuhl, Southern Potato Company


Colin Chapdelaine, The Star Group


Brian Slagel, Sunkist Growers, Inc.


Stephan Schmekel, Vegpro International Inc.


Mike Ecker, Vineland Growers’ Co-operative Ltd.


Robert Pereira, Walmart Canada Corp.


Aaron Bregg, Westcoast Produce Wholesalers



Source:  CPMA May 23, 2017 news release.


Publish date: 
Thursday, May 25, 2017

Click to leave a comment

For security purposes, please confirm you are not a robot!


Ken Forth awarded honorary doctorate

The University of Guelph conferred an honorary degree on broccoli grower Ken Forth during convocation ceremonies on June 12.  He was cited for his decades of leadership work on the labour file that has taken him to Mexico, the Caribbean and meetings in Europe.

Chris Davison heads to Washington

With more than 25 years of experience in public affairs and communications, Chris Davison is leaving corporate and government affairs in Syngenta’s Guelph, Ontario office to take up a new role in Washington, DC. He is the new head, business sustainability for Syngenta North America.

Crystal Mackay launches Loft32

The former CEO of the Canadian Centre for Food Integrity has announced her founding of communications company Loft32 in Guelph, Ontario.

John Jamieson takes on CEO role

The Canadian Centre for Food Integrity has hired John Jamieson as its new president and CEO. Most recently, Jamieson served as deputy minister of agriculture and fisheries, and deputy minister of rural and regional development in Prince Edward Island. He was also a past executive director of the Prince Edward Island Federation of Agriculture.

Dairy farmer is new PEI ag minister

Bloyce Thompson is adding extra roles to his daily routine of milking Holstein cows. He is Prince Edward Island’s new minister of agriculture and land, justice and public safety and attorney general.