CPMA announces 2019-2020 board of directors

Oleen Smethurst, new chair, CPMA is pictured with John Thwaites (L) and Mike Ecker (R).

Oleen Smethurst of Costco Wholesale Canada was elected chair of the CPMA at its annual general meeting recently in Montreal. First and second vice chairs are Davis Yung of Fresh Direct Produce Ltd., and Guy Milette of Courchesne Larose Ltee. respectively.

Smethurst has spent half of her 28-year career at Costco Wholesale Canada in produce, based in Ottawa, Ontario. She has grown through the ranks to the position of assistant vice-president, general merchandise manager for produce.

In a brief interview with The Grower, she said, “I’m following the path of innovation in the industry. Food safety will be a big topic going forward. I’m searching for the best flavours in everything. Flavour is the way to drive consumption and keep kids eating healthy.”  


The following directors were elected to the CPMA board:


·         Joe Sbrocchi, Ontario Greenhouse Vegetable Growers

·         Raffi Krikorian, Goodfood Market Corp.

·         Dan Martin, EarthFresh

·         Mimmo Franzone, Longo Bros. Fruit Markets Inc.

·         David Dube, Krown Produce

·         Robert Johnson, Country Grocer

·         Tom Coleman, Earthbound Farm

·         Brian Slagel, Sunkist Growers, Inc.

        The following members comprise the  2019-2020 CPMA Executive Committee:







Oleen Smethurst

Costco Wholesale Canada


Past Chair

Les Mallard

Fyffes North America Inc.


1st Vice Chair

Davis Yung

Fresh Direct Produce Ltd.


2nd Vice Chair

Guy Milette

Courchesne Larose Ltée.


Executive Committee Member

Mario Masellis

M.L. Catania Co. Ltd.


Executive Committee Member

Colin Chapdelaine

Star Group / BC Hot House Foods Inc.



      For a complete list of all CPMA board members, visit www.cpma.ca


      Source: Canadian Produce Marketing Association, April 11, 2019 news release




If latest news: 
Check if it is latest news (for "Latest News" page)
Publish date: 
Sunday, April 14, 2019

Click to leave a comment

For security purposes, please confirm you are not a robot!


Grape Growers of Ontario Celebrity Luncheon

For more than 35 years the Grape Growers of Ontario’s Celebrity Luncheon has marked the opening of the Niagara Grape and Wine Festival by showcasing Canadian personalities and celebrating the annual grape harvest. This year’s guest is Brent Butt. 

Ken Forth awarded honorary doctorate

The University of Guelph conferred an honorary degree on broccoli grower Ken Forth during convocation ceremonies on June 12.  He was cited for his decades of leadership work on the labour file that has taken him to Mexico, the Caribbean and meetings in Europe.

Chris Davison heads to Washington

With more than 25 years of experience in public affairs and communications, Chris Davison is leaving corporate and government affairs in Syngenta’s Guelph, Ontario office to take up a new role in Washington, DC. He is the new head, business sustainability for Syngenta North America.

Crystal Mackay launches Loft32

The former CEO of the Canadian Centre for Food Integrity has announced her founding of communications company Loft32 in Guelph, Ontario.

John Jamieson takes on CEO role

The Canadian Centre for Food Integrity has hired John Jamieson as its new president and CEO. Most recently, Jamieson served as deputy minister of agriculture and fisheries, and deputy minister of rural and regional development in Prince Edward Island. He was also a past executive director of the Prince Edward Island Federation of Agriculture.