Greenhouse grower to chair OFVGA

Jan VanderHout

Jan VanderHout, Waterdown, was elected chair at the January 10-11 annual general meeting of the Ontario Fruit and Vegetable Growers’ Association. He is the first greenhouse grower to chair the organization. VanderHout and his brother operate Beverly Greenhouses Ltd., managing 22 acres of greenhouse cucumbers.


Grape grower Bill George, Beamsville, is vice-chair. Management committee consists of: John Thwaites (tender fruit), Norm Charbonneau (berries) Mike Chromzcak (asparagus). The board of directors includes Charles Stevens (blueberries, apples), Kenny Forth (vegetables), George Gilvesy (greenhouse), Remi Van de Slyke (ginseng), Jason Verkaik (vegetables), Mac James (potatoes).


Rising costs of energy and the unknown costs of cap and trade were the foremost issues of the meeting as reflected in a panel discussion that included Arthur Potts, parliamentary secretary to the Ontario minister of the environment and climate change, Jason Verkaik, Jan VanderHout and former deputy agriculture minister Frank Ingratta.


If latest news: 
Check if it is latest news (for "Latest News" page)
Publish date: 
Friday, January 13, 2017

Click to leave a comment

For security purposes, please confirm you are not a robot!