The Grower website a winner!

The Canadian Farm Writers’ Federation (CFWF) has awarded a gold, first place standing, for website newsworthiness and quality in its 2018 awards competition. The award honours the content creation of Karen Davidson, editor and the website design and maintenance by Carlie Melara. The team effort also recognizes the contributions of monthly columnists:  Jan VanderHout, Owen Roberts, Bruce Kelly, Peter Chapman and Jennifer Morris.


“This is a proud moment for us at The Grower,” said Karen Davidson, editor.  “On a daily basis, we strive for diversity and balance in our reporting, keeping our target audience in mind. It’s a challenging task in a quick-paced world. We try to take our readers from ‘who cares?’ to ‘who knew!’”  


“Awards are a great occasion to thank our advertisers,” adds Carlie Melara. “Without our digital sponsors, we wouldn’t be able to publish and archive so much horticultural news. We now regularly count 19,000+ visitors to the website on a monthly basis.”  


Thanks also goes to professional photographer Glenn Lowson whose pictures often grace the website. Without photos, taken in the dirt or from atop a machine, there would not be the same credibility in The Grower’s horticultural coverage.  


The CFWF’s ‘World Wide Website Henry Heald Award’ was sponsored by Bayer CropScience, and was among a dozen categories of media excellence recognized at the CFWF 2018 annual conference in Winnipeg.


Second place (silver) went to John Greig ( and third place (bronze) to Laura Rance, (


The Grower delivers bi-monthly podcasts and a ‘Fresh News from The Grower’ electronic news bulletin every Monday morning, to ensure you’re up-to-date for the week ahead. It’s free to anyone in the horticultural industry upon request. To subscribe, click here.


Source: Canadian Farm Writers Federation

If latest news: 
Check if it is latest news (for "Latest News" page)
Publish date: 
Monday, September 24, 2018

Click to leave a comment

For security purposes, please confirm you are not a robot!


Ken Forth awarded honorary doctorate

The University of Guelph conferred an honorary degree on broccoli grower Ken Forth during convocation ceremonies on June 12.  He was cited for his decades of leadership work on the labour file that has taken him to Mexico, the Caribbean and meetings in Europe.

Chris Davison heads to Washington

With more than 25 years of experience in public affairs and communications, Chris Davison is leaving corporate and government affairs in Syngenta’s Guelph, Ontario office to take up a new role in Washington, DC. He is the new head, business sustainability for Syngenta North America.

Crystal Mackay launches Loft32

The former CEO of the Canadian Centre for Food Integrity has announced her founding of communications company Loft32 in Guelph, Ontario.

John Jamieson takes on CEO role

The Canadian Centre for Food Integrity has hired John Jamieson as its new president and CEO. Most recently, Jamieson served as deputy minister of agriculture and fisheries, and deputy minister of rural and regional development in Prince Edward Island. He was also a past executive director of the Prince Edward Island Federation of Agriculture.

Dairy farmer is new PEI ag minister

Bloyce Thompson is adding extra roles to his daily routine of milking Holstein cows. He is Prince Edward Island’s new minister of agriculture and land, justice and public safety and attorney general.