Ken Forth honoured by Grape Growers of Ontario

L-R: Matthias Oppenlaender, chair, Grape Growers of Ontario, presents the 2019 Award of Merit to Ken Forth, flanked by Bill Schenck, vice-chair.

The Grape Growers of Ontario has honoured Ken Forth with the 2019 Award of Merit for his career-long commitment to farm labour. The broccoli grower has been a leading force in supporting Canadian farmers and the international farm workers who are so critical to horticulture’s success in Canada.


He is president of the Foreign Agricultural Resource Management Service (FARMS), a federal program that coordinates seasonal workers from Mexico and the Caribbean, and chair of the Labour Issues Coordinating Committee (LICC). 


A third-generation broccoli grower in Lynden, Ontario, he also serves as the chair of the Ontario Fruit and Vegetable Growers’ Association’s (OFVGA) labour section and sits on the trade committee of the Canadian Horticultural Council (CHC). He is a past president of both the OFVGA and CHC. 


In 2013, Forth was one of two Ontarians awarded the prestigious Badge of Honour for Long and Faithful Service by the Prime Minister of Jamaica for his dedicated service to the Farm Work Program. In addition, he will be awarded an Honorary PhD from the University of Guelph this year. 


Source: Grape Growers of Ontario, April 4, 2019 news release



If latest news: 
Check if it is latest news (for "Latest News" page)
Publish date: 
Monday, April 8, 2019

Click to leave a comment

For security purposes, please confirm you are not a robot!


Davis Yung to chair 2020-21 CPMA board of directors

Just like the industry itself, Davis Yung brings a dynamic leadership style to the Canadian Produce Marketing Association. Its diverse membership is comprised of every segment of the produce industry supply chain which is responsible for 90 per cent of the fresh fruit and vegetable sales in Canada. 

Virtual New Product Showcase awards announced

The Virtual New Product Showcase honours four product categories: the organic product award, packaging innovation award, best snackable product and best new product award. The Little Potato Company’s Easy Sides won best new product. 

New chair for Ontario Farm Products Marketing Commission

Pork and chicken producer Amy Cronin has been appointed chair of the Ontario Farm Products Marketing Commission for a two-year term. 

Nature Fresh Farms hires director of marketing

Seasoned advertising veteran Stephanie Swatkow is the new director of marketing for greenhouse grower Nature Fresh Farms. 

The Grower columnist interviewed on CBC Radio

In the May issue of The Grower, columnist Owen Roberts put forward a perspective that’s not often heard in the mainstream media. And that’s the view that  foreign workers are professionals. CBC Radio contacted him for a series of cross-Canada interviews on April 28.