Ken Knox is new chair, Ontario Food Terminal Board

Well-known Ontario civil servant Ken Knox has been appointed for a one-year term as chair of the Ontario Food Terminal Board (OFTB), until Jan. 16, 2020.


Mr. Knox was formerly deputy minister at OMAFRA and has led many high-profile initiatives such as the creation of Agricorp, the Advanced Agricultural Leadership Program, the Ontario Genomics Institute, the Ontario Science and Innovation Council, and the Vineland Research and Innovation Centre.  


The OFTB’s board mandate is to “acquire, construct, equip and operate a wholesale fruit and produce market, and operate such facility for the transportation, distribution, and handling of fruit and produce,” according to the Ontario Food Terminal Act of 1990.


The board chair of OFTB is supported by the vice-chair, Mark Pearlman, and five board members. They currently include: Larry Kieswetter, Ian Mackenzie, Margaret Appleby, and Lino Vittorio. One seat is vacant. 


Mark Pearlman is a director of sales at Hewlett Packard, and has previously worked with several global companies to implement business transformation programs, among them Walmart, IBM Canada and O&Y Enterprises.


Larry Kieswetter is a former senior director of produce with Burnac Produce Limited and with Loblaw Companies.  


Ian Mackenzie is the former general manager of the Ontario Produce Marketing Association until his retirement in 2015. He previously held positions at the Fresh Produce Alliance, the Canadian Horticultural Council and the Dispute Resolution Corporation.


Margaret Appleby is currently a part-time professor in the Food and Farming Program at Durham College. She previously worked for several decades at OMAFRA to develop integrated pest management strategies with horticultural growers.



Source: Ontario Public Appointments Secretariat February 4, 2019 website posting

Publish date: 
Saturday, February 9, 2019

Click to leave a comment

For security purposes, please confirm you are not a robot!


United Fresh names best in show virtual exhibit booths

Canadians won two of the six booth awards at the United Fresh LIVE! show. Best Overall Booth was won by greenhouse grower Sunset/Mastronardi Produce Ltd., Kingsville, Ontario. Best FreshMKT Booth was won by Pure Flavor – Pure Hothouse Foods, Inc. Leamington, Ontario. 

Davis Yung champions initiative for frontline workers

Davis Yung, the new chair of the Canadian Produce Marketing Association (CPMA), has hit the ground running, spearheading a new initiative to deliver produce to frontline workers. 500 shopping bags, brimming with produce, recognize their thankless work throughout the pandemic thus far.

Davis Yung to chair 2020-21 CPMA board of directors

Just like the industry itself, Davis Yung brings a dynamic leadership style to the Canadian Produce Marketing Association. Its diverse membership is comprised of every segment of the produce industry supply chain which is responsible for 90 per cent of the fresh fruit and vegetable sales in Canada. 

Virtual New Product Showcase awards announced

The Virtual New Product Showcase honours four product categories: the organic product award, packaging innovation award, best snackable product and best new product award. The Little Potato Company’s Easy Sides won best new product. 

New chair for Ontario Farm Products Marketing Commission

Pork and chicken producer Amy Cronin has been appointed chair of the Ontario Farm Products Marketing Commission for a two-year term.