Mike Ecker, winner of CPMA Lifetime Achievement Award

Mike Ecker, the energetic and enthusiastic president of the Vineland Growers’ Co-operative based at Jordan Station, Ontario, is the 2020 recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Canadian Produce Marketing Association (CPMA). The announcement was made at a virtual gathering of the CPMA Board of Directors and past chairs at a semi-annual meeting in mid-September.  


Ecker has dedicated his entire career, spanning 45 years to date, serving the produce industry at the Vineland Growers’ Co-operative, Jordan Station, Ontario. It’s the longest continually run co-operative in Ontario, having been established 107 years ago in 1913.


In his role as president, he manages relationships with more than 300 grower members to facilitate a strong cooperative that works as a cohesive unit in the marketing of fresh fruit to retail chains. He is also an appointee to the Vineland Research and Innovation Stakeholders Committee, working with the Vineland Research Centre to facilitate consultation and information exchange among all stakeholder groups.


Beyond day-to-day duties, Ecker currently serves on the CPMA Board of Directors and was previously chair of the CPMA Government Issue Management Committee (CGIM). He has also served as the president of the Board of Directors of the Ontario Produce Marketing Association (OPMA), and as a director on the Agricultural Adaptation Council (AAC).


He has also served as a member of the Advisory Committee to the Ontario Tender Fruit Marketing Board.


“Mike is incredibly deserving of the CPMA Lifetime Achievement Award, not only for his achievements at the Vineland Growers Co-operative, but in particular for the thousands of hours he has contributed in volunteer positions over his career,” said Ron Lemaire, CPMA president. “His commitment to the growth and development of the industry continues to leave a lasting impression with everyone he meets.”


 CPMA members can learn more about the history of the CPMA Lifetime Achievement Award, including a complete list of previous winners, in theProduce + membership directory on community.cpma.ca.


Source:  Canadian Produce Marketing Association September 17, 2020 news release


If latest news: 
Check if it is latest news (for "Latest News" page)
Publish date: 
Friday, September 18, 2020

Click to leave a comment

For security purposes, please confirm you are not a robot!


Lana Popham continues as BC ag minister

British Columbia’s premier announced his new NDP cabinet on November 26, keeping Lana Popham in her role as minister of agriculture, food and fisheries. 

OPMA celebrates leaders at virtual awards

Five individuals have been honoured by the Ontario Produce Marketing Association at its first-ever virtual awards. These leaders rose to the challenge of keeping fresh fruits and vegetables available to Ontario consumers. 

Honeycrisp Apple Contest winners rewarded

Just for fun, The Grower invited apple growers across the country to submit photos and measurements of the biggest Honeycrisp apple. Van Ymeren Orchards, Alymer, Ontario wins the contest with an apple measuring 4.9175 inches.

AgScape names new executive director

Taylor Selig has been appointed to continue AgScape’s mission of reaching Ontario’s two million students about agriculture and the potential of agri-careers. He’s been with the organization for six years as development manager. 

CPMA names 2020 Produce Champion

Alistair MacGregor, Member of Parliament for Cowichan–Malahat–Langford and NDP Critic for Agriculture and Agri-Food is featured on the latest podcast of the Canadian Produce Marketing Association.  He’s also the 2020 Produce Champion.