New chair for Ontario Processing Vegetable Growers

Ontario’s agriculture minister Ernie Hardeman has appointed Dave Hope to be chair of the Ontario Processing Vegetable Growers’ Board, effective immediately. The announcement was made at the end of the January 30-31 annual general meeting in London. 


According to the statement: “As a former mixed livestock farmer raised on an eighth-generation farm in Ontario, Dave has extensive agriculture experience, in addition to his years of service working for the Ontario government at the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs. I have had the pleasure of working with Dave and am confident that with his knowledge and experience, Dave and the Board will further advance the processing vegetable industry in Ontario.”


Update: He replaces Suzanne van Bommel who tendered her resignation to take the role of regulated marketing advisor to the Ontario Farm Products Marketing Commission. Her two-year term would have ended in September 2019.


Source: Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs January 31, 2019 statement 

If latest news: 
Check if it is latest news (for "Latest News" page)
Publish date: 
Friday, February 1, 2019

Click to leave a comment

For security purposes, please confirm you are not a robot!


Davis Yung to chair 2020-21 CPMA board of directors

Just like the industry itself, Davis Yung brings a dynamic leadership style to the Canadian Produce Marketing Association. Its diverse membership is comprised of every segment of the produce industry supply chain which is responsible for 90 per cent of the fresh fruit and vegetable sales in Canada. 

Virtual New Product Showcase awards announced

The Virtual New Product Showcase honours four product categories: the organic product award, packaging innovation award, best snackable product and best new product award. The Little Potato Company’s Easy Sides won best new product. 

New chair for Ontario Farm Products Marketing Commission

Pork and chicken producer Amy Cronin has been appointed chair of the Ontario Farm Products Marketing Commission for a two-year term. 

Nature Fresh Farms hires director of marketing

Seasoned advertising veteran Stephanie Swatkow is the new director of marketing for greenhouse grower Nature Fresh Farms. 

The Grower columnist interviewed on CBC Radio

In the May issue of The Grower, columnist Owen Roberts put forward a perspective that’s not often heard in the mainstream media. And that’s the view that  foreign workers are professionals. CBC Radio contacted him for a series of cross-Canada interviews on April 28.