New Vineland research chair appointed

Dr. Warren Jestin

The Vineland Research and Innovation Centre (Vineland) has announced the appointment of Dr. Warren Jestin as chair of the board. According to its Sept. 25 news release, Dr. Jestin joined the board in 2013, was appointed vice chair in 2016, and succeeds the Honourable Lyle Vanclief who served as board chair for the last three years.


Dr. Jestin retired in 2016 from Scotiabank after nearly three decades as chief economist. He also has worked at the Bank of Canada and taught at a number of Canadian universities. Dr. Jestin is an advisor and public speaker on domestic and global economic issues and is on the advisory board of the University of Guelph's College of Business & Economics.


Dr. Jestin has been a member of the C.D. Howe Institute's Monetary Policy Council and became a Senior Fellow in 2015. He has been involved with policy committees of the Canadian and Ontario Chamber of Commerce and the Toronto Board of Trade.


Vineland also welcomed  three new directors to the board and thanked outgoing directors Hon. Lyle Vanclief, Paul-André Bosc and William (Bill) Stensson for their contributions. Incoming directors include Carolyn Hurst, president of Westcott Vineyards; Fred Koornneef, president of Koornneef Produce and Sue-Ann Staff, owner/winemaker of Sue-Ann Staff Estate Winery.



If latest news: 
Check if it is latest news (for "Latest News" page)
Publish date: 
Tuesday, September 25, 2018

Click to leave a comment

For security purposes, please confirm you are not a robot!


Pick-your-own-apples pioneer honoured

Innovative apple grower Tom Chudleigh, who was instrumental in establishing pick-your-own orchards as a popular agri-tourism activity in Ontario, is the winner of this year’s Arysta Golden Apple Award. He shares the award with wife Carol and family. 

OFVGA Award of Merit: Ken Linington

Longtime horticultural labour issues advisor Ken Linington is the winner of this year’s Ontario Fruit and Vegetable Growers’ Association Award of Merit. He was honoured at the OFVGA annual banquet in Niagara Falls, February 19, 2019.

Vineland Growers Coop and Norfolk Fruit Growers agree on apple marketing

Vineland Growers’ Co-operative Ltd. will become the exclusive marketer for The Norfolk Fruit Growers’ Association fresh apple program, beginning with the 2019 apple harvest.

Soil specialist Anne Verhallen honoured

Anne Verhallen, soil management specialist for horticulture crops with the Ontario ministry of agriculture, food and rural affairs, was honoured as one of this year’s Soil Champion award recipients.

Ken Knox is new chair, Ontario Food Terminal Board

Ken Knox, former deputy minister of the Ontario ministry of agriculture, food and rural affairs, has been appointed by the Ontario government as chair of the Ontario Food Terminal Board. He has a one-year term ending January 16, 2020.