Newsmakers April 2016

2016 CHC Board of Directors, (L-R):  Peter Swetnam (Atlantic), Adrian Huisman (Ontario) Brian Gilroy (Ontario), Alvin Keenan, first vice president (Atlantic) Keith Kuhl, president (Prairies), Bar Hayre (BC), Jocelyn St-Denis (Quebec), Ernie Van Boom (Prairies), Fred Steele (BC), Anne Fowlie, executive vice- president, Stephanie Levasseur (Quebec). Photo courtesy of Trevor Eggleton, CHC.

Delegates to the Canadian Horticultural Council have elected Keith Kuhl, a Winkler, Manitoba potato grower, for a fourth time to the role of president. 

Committee chairs are:  Murray Porteous, labour committee; Mark Wales, finance and business management committee; Ken Forth, trade and marketing committee; Charles Stevens, crop, plant 
protection and environment committee; Jack Bates, industry standards and food safety committee, John Bareman, potato committee; Brian Gilroy, apple and fruit committee; Phil Tregunno, tender fruit section of the apple and fruit committee; Jack Bates, blueberry section of the apple and fruit committee; Bill George, grape section of the apple and fruit committee; Linda Delli Santi, greenhouse committee; André Plante, vegetable committee.  

CHC’s Doug Connery Award was presented to Claude Laniel, one of Quebec’s foremost organizers of the province’s horticultural industry. He has been involved as rural economist, promoter of CanadaGAP as well as research and development.  

At the Canadian Food Safety Forum, NSF-GFTC recognized Canadian companies and individuals who have contributed to providing excellence in food safety. The Holland Marsh Growers’ Association took second place in the Food Safety Excellence Award category. The award was accepted by Bridget Visser, communications and Jody Mott, executive director.  

Canada’s Outstanding Young Farmer contest has announced apple growers Andrew and Jennifer Lovell, River View Orchards, Keswick Ridge, New Brunswick as 2016 winners of the Atlantic region. In Manitoba, the winners are potato and grain farmers Jason and Laura Kehler, Carman. The Canadian championship will be held in Niagara Falls, ON from November 29 to December 4. 

At the International Fruit Tree Association (IFTA) annual conference, outstanding award recipients included: Amy Irish-Brown, a Michigan State extensionist for the Extension Award; Dr. Randy Beaudry, Researcher Award for pre-harvest maturity and post-harvest storage work at Michigan State University; Ed Wittenbach, Grower Award; Ken Hall, Industry Service Award; Harold Thorne, IFTA Hall of Fame. 

BASF Canada presented the Cuvee Vineyard of Excellence Award to father-and-son duo Howard and Wes Lowrey at the Cuvee Grand Tasting in early March. The company is also hosting 10 of the top viticulture students from each of Brock University and Niagara College, giving them a chance to network with leaders from the Ontario wine industry.

The Alberta potato industry welcomes Dmytro Yevtushenko, Ph.D., to the position of research chair in potato science at the University of Lethbridge. The five-year appointment is funded by a consortium of association and industry partners. 

The Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA) welcomes Mackenzie Lespérance as the weed management lead – horticulture crops, while Kristin Obeid is on maternity leave. From her base at the Harrow Research and Development Centre, she will be focusing her efforts on greenhouse trials for herbicide resistance screening, collaborative work with the University of Guelph on herbicide resistant pigweed in carrot production and other projects.

Publish date: 
Thursday, March 31, 2016

Click to leave a comment

For security purposes, please confirm you are not a robot!


Grape King announced for 2019

For John Fedorkow, it’s a lifetime achievement to be honoured as Grape King 2019. He was photographed at his 75-acre vineyard near St. David’s, Ontario. 

Ontario Processing Vegetable Growers names general manager

The London-Ontario based association, Ontario Processing Vegetable Growers, has named Keith Robbins to the role of general manager. He starts September 17, 2019. 

QPMA honours George Pitsikoulis

The Quebec Produce Marketing Association names George Pitsikoulis as its 2019 Pillar of the Industry award winner. The honour was bestowed during its annual meeting  in Quebec City, August 8-10.

AALP Class 18 announced

The Advanced Agricultural Leadership Program kicks off its Class 18 on September 15. The OFVGA’s Chris Duyvelshoff, crop protection advisor, is one of the 21 emerging leaders accepted to the 19-month course.  

The president of Savoura found deceased

The founder of the Savoura greenhouse tomato brand, Stéphane Roy and his 15-year-old son Justin, were found deceased on July 25 after a helicopter crash in northern Quebec.