NewsMakers May 2016

Matthias Oppenlaender.

Matthias Oppenlaender is the new chair of Grape Growers of Ontario. German-born, he emigrated in 1984 to Canada where he now farms more than 400 acres of vineyards near Niagara-on-the-Lake. He is joined by vice-chair Bill Schenck and the following directors:  Steve Pohorly, Erwin Wiens, Jim Morrison, Brock Puddicombe, Debra Marshall, Scott Wilkins, Kevin Watson, Doug Funk Jr.  

Farm & Food Care Ontario has named Andrew Campbell, Strathroy, Ontario, its 2016 recipient of its Champion Award. The dairy farmer has been a leader in telling agriculture’s story in a positive approach through social media. 

Condolences to the family and friends of Dave Lambert, Niagara-on-the-Lake grape grower who passed away in mid-April. He was a former chair of the Ontario Fruit and Vegetable Grower’s Association property committee, chair of the Fresh Grape Growers’ Marketing Board from 2014-2016 and an avid member of many agricultural committees. He was 55.

At the Ontario Tender Fruit Growers Association annual general meeting, the following board was elected for 2016/17:  Phil Tregunno, chair; John Thwaites, vice-chair; Dave Enns, David Hipple, Fred Meyers, Leo Devries, Brock Puddicombe, Rusty Smith, Ken Porteous.  The 2015 Award of Merit honoured Abe Epp, a longtime tender fruit grower for his contributions, particularly to the nectarine industry.  

The PEI Wild Blueberry Growers Association will continue with John Handrahan as chair after their recent annual meeting. He is joined by Phillip Jennings, vice-chair, Merrill Wigginton
treasurer, David MacNearney, secretary. Newly elected director is Leigh Jenkins, joined by Robert MacLean, Kevin Carver, Colin MacAulay and John MacDonald.

Scotian Gold Co-operative based in Coldbrook, Nova Scotia has announced the retirement of David Cudmore, CEO, after 33 years of service. The company is now helmed by David Parrish, who was previously chief operating officer.    
Sylvain Charlebois, frequent TV commentator and contributor to the Globe and Mail, is leaving the University of Guelph’s Food Institute and moving to Halifax. Effective July 1, he becomes dean of the faculty of management and professor in the faculty of agriculture at Dalhousie University.

Belated welcome to Carolyn Teasdale, British Columbia’s new industry specialist for berries. Based in Abbotsford, she has taken over from Mark Sweeney, who retired last fall. Look to page 20 for a B.C. perspective on spotted wing drosophila.  

Condolences to the family and friends of Norman Looney, who built a distinguished career as principal research scientist, Pacific Agri-Food Research Centre, Summerland, British Columbia. He made significant contributions on Canadian expert committees on tree fruits as well as presidency of the Canadian Society for Horticultural Science and Agriculture Industry of Canada. One of his greatest legacies was the outreach he maintained with the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations and his work with states in Eastern Europe, sub-Sarahan and Northern Africa. He passed away March 24 in Vancouver, B.C.  

Best wishes to Herb Sherwood, advertising sales representative for The Grower for the last nine-and-a-half years. He has been a familiar face at horticultural trade shows and been the friendly telephone voice to our advertisers. He leaves May 31 for a well-earned summer vacation and new opportunities beyond.  


Publish date: 
Wednesday, April 27, 2016

Click to leave a comment

For security purposes, please confirm you are not a robot!


Grape King announced for 2019

For John Fedorkow, it’s a lifetime achievement to be honoured as Grape King 2019. He was photographed at his 75-acre vineyard near St. David’s, Ontario. 

Ontario Processing Vegetable Growers names general manager

The London-Ontario based association, Ontario Processing Vegetable Growers, has named Keith Robbins to the role of general manager. He starts September 17, 2019. 

QPMA honours George Pitsikoulis

The Quebec Produce Marketing Association names George Pitsikoulis as its 2019 Pillar of the Industry award winner. The honour was bestowed during its annual meeting  in Quebec City, August 8-10.

AALP Class 18 announced

The Advanced Agricultural Leadership Program kicks off its Class 18 on September 15. The OFVGA’s Chris Duyvelshoff, crop protection advisor, is one of the 21 emerging leaders accepted to the 19-month course.  

The president of Savoura found deceased

The founder of the Savoura greenhouse tomato brand, Stéphane Roy and his 15-year-old son Justin, were found deceased on July 25 after a helicopter crash in northern Quebec.