OPMA welcomes two new board members

The Ontario Produce Marketing Association (OPMA) announces the appointment of two new board members who will serve a three-year term from 2020 to 2023.


Fiona McLean, Del Fresco Produce and Michael Wexler, the Oppenheimer Group were elected during the virtual annual general meeting on September 2.


Fiona McLean, the marketing manager at Del Fresco Produce, takes an active role in the industry. She is a current director of the Berry Growers of Ontario and sits on committees for the Ontario Greenhouse Vegetable Growers, Canadian Produce Marketing Association and Produce Marketing Association. She has strong strategy development and risk management experience as well as solid leadership and human resources skills through her role at the greenhouse operations of Del Fresco Produce Ltd.


Michael Wexler is a sales representative at the Oppenheimer Group (Oppy). His passion for produce started with his parents’ wholesale distribution business. With more than nine years of professional experience, he has  established a strong network in the industry and is a dynamic leader. He’s an enthusiastic contributor to the OPMA Member Advisory Group Committee. 


Stepping down from the board are Steve Bamford, Fresh Advancements and Joe Dutchyn, Niagara Vineyard and Orchard Corporation. 


Houman Madani, Metro Ontario Inc., remains chair of the board.



Source:  Ontario Produce Marketing Association September 10, 2020 news release




If latest news: 
Check if it is latest news (for "Latest News" page)
Publish date: 
Monday, September 14, 2020

Click to leave a comment

For security purposes, please confirm you are not a robot!


Peak of the Market adds to executive team

Winnipeg-based Peak of the Market appoints Deena Clarke as chief financial officer. And broadens the executive team with Jodi Johnson in the newly created position of marketing and communications.

UPGC general manager retires

A veteran of Canada’s potato industry, Kevin MacIsaac, plans to retire this fall after a decade as general manager of the United Potato Growers of Canada. His diversified career spans 42 years as an extension agronomist, farmer, industry organizer and articulate advocate for agriculture. 

Greg Morrow named Nova Scotia ag minister

Long-time radio news director, Greg Morrow, is the new agriculture minister for Nova Scotia.  

Mucci Farms hires grocery veteran

Dan Branson starts a new role as senior director, business and product development on August 16, 2021. He’s had a 15-year run with Canada’s largest grocer, Loblaw Companies, earning him a reputation as a thought leader on large global initiatives. 

New directors elected to DRC

The Fruit and Vegetable Dispute Resolution Corporation has announced that new directors were elected to the board at its annual general meeting held virtually from June 2-4, 2021. Representation is broad from Canada, the United States, Mexico and Chile.