Regulatory competitiveness on front burner

A well-known face in Canadian horticulture will be taking on a broader role in advocating for Canadian business. Anne Fowlie, the Canadian Horticultural Council’s executive vice-president for 17 years, has been appointed to the federal government’s External Advisory Committee on Regulatory Competitiveness.


During her tenure at the Canadian Horticultural Council from 1999-2016, Anne oversaw the team that developed and successfully implemented the CanadaGAP on-farm food safety program for fruits and vegetables in Canada.


She currently manages a range of special projects for the Fruit & Vegetable Dispute Resolution Corporation, an international body providing a range of commercial dispute resolution services to the produce industry for product entering the North American market.


The External Advisory Committee on Regulatory Competitiveness was announced in the fall 2018 economic statement and 2019 federal budget. Its role will be to advise the federal government on regulatory competitiveness and innovation while ensuring Canadian’s health, security and safety, and protection of the environment.


The eight members of the committee were named in a news release issued May 3, 2019. For a complete list, click here.



Source: Treasury Board Secretariat, May 3, 2019 news release

If latest news: 
Check if it is latest news (for "Latest News" page)
Publish date: 
Saturday, May 4, 2019

Click to leave a comment

For security purposes, please confirm you are not a robot!


United Fresh names best in show virtual exhibit booths

Canadians won two of the six booth awards at the United Fresh LIVE! show. Best Overall Booth was won by greenhouse grower Sunset/Mastronardi Produce Ltd., Kingsville, Ontario. Best FreshMKT Booth was won by Pure Flavor – Pure Hothouse Foods, Inc. Leamington, Ontario. 

Davis Yung champions initiative for frontline workers

Davis Yung, the new chair of the Canadian Produce Marketing Association (CPMA), has hit the ground running, spearheading a new initiative to deliver produce to frontline workers. 500 shopping bags, brimming with produce, recognize their thankless work throughout the pandemic thus far.

Davis Yung to chair 2020-21 CPMA board of directors

Just like the industry itself, Davis Yung brings a dynamic leadership style to the Canadian Produce Marketing Association. Its diverse membership is comprised of every segment of the produce industry supply chain which is responsible for 90 per cent of the fresh fruit and vegetable sales in Canada. 

Virtual New Product Showcase awards announced

The Virtual New Product Showcase honours four product categories: the organic product award, packaging innovation award, best snackable product and best new product award. The Little Potato Company’s Easy Sides won best new product. 

New chair for Ontario Farm Products Marketing Commission

Pork and chicken producer Amy Cronin has been appointed chair of the Ontario Farm Products Marketing Commission for a two-year term.