Two Canadians win Retail Produce Manager award

Mike Burdi of Metro Ontario Inc. in Toronto and Elaine Fong of Calgary Co-op are two of the 25 winners of the 2019 Retail Produce Manager Awards, announced by United Fresh Produce Association. 


The group of 25 produce managers represents supermarket banners, commissaries and independent retail stores from 16 states and two Canadian provinces. The winners will be honoured guests at the United Fresh 2019 convention, June 10-12 in Chicago.  


Sponsored by Dole Food Company, the program pays special recognition to produce managers working every day on the front line to increase sales and consumption of fresh fruits and vegetables. Since the program’s inception in 2005, more than 325 retail produce managers, representing more than 110 different retail banners, have been honoured for their contributions to the industry.


“Produce managers are the face of our industry to the consumer,” said United Fresh president & CEO Tom Stenzel. “Their creative merchandising and positive approach to customer service directly correlates to the growth of sales and ultimately consumption of fresh fruits and vegetables.”


The 2019 award marks 15 years of recognizing exceptional retail produce managers, according to the United Fresh Produce news release.  Click here for a complete list of the 2019 winners.



Source: United Fresh Produce March 18, 2019 news release



If latest news: 
Check if it is latest news (for "Latest News" page)
Publish date: 
Monday, March 25, 2019

Click to leave a comment

For security purposes, please confirm you are not a robot!


New chair for Agricorp

The new chair of Agricorp's board of directors is fourth-generation carrot and onion farmer Jason Verkaik. He’s a past chair of the Ontario Fruit and Vegetable Growers’ Association.

Wageningen University president joins Syngenta board

Louise Fresco, president of Wageningen University and Research in the Netherlands joined Syngenta’s board of directors, effective April 12, 2019. The university is highly regarded world-wide for its research in horticulture and other agricultural sciences.

New executive director for AgScape

AgScape, the voice of agriculture in the classroom for Ontario, has hired Glenna Banda as its new executive director. She has headed The Children’s Foundation of Guelph and Wellington (CFGW) for the past nine years.

Ontario Tender Fruit and Fresh Grape election results

Phil Tregunno remains chair of the Ontario Tender Fruit Growers for 2019.

CPMA announces 2019-2020 board of directors

The Canadian Produce Marketing Association (CPMA) has elected a new executive slate for the next year. Global traveller Oleen Smethurst of Costco Wholesale Canada is the new chair.