CHC announces 2019 board of directors

Brian Gilroy, president, Canadian Horticultural Council

The Canadian Horticultural Council has some new faces at the table for 2019.  Ontario apple grower Brian Gilroy remains president while Ontario greenhouse cucumber grower Jan VanderHout moves into the vice-president’s role. 


They are joined by the following directors:  Marcus Janzen and Peter Simonsen, British Columbia; Beth Connery and David Hoekstra, Prairies; Bill George, Ontario; Stephanie Levasseur and Jocelyn St-Denis, Quebec; Gerald Dykerman and one more to be announced for the Maritimes.  

Chairs of the various committees are as follows:


Ken Forth, Trade and Marketing Committee

Mark Wales, Business Risk Management Committee

Nathan Warkentin, Energy, Environment and Climate Change Committee

Jody Mott, Industry Standards and Food Safety Committee

Beth Connery, Labour Committee

Jason Smith, Crop, Plant Protection and Environment Committee 

Linda Delli Santi, Greenhouse Committee

Joanne Driscoll, Vegetable Committee

Bill Zylmans, Potato Committee

Brian Gilroy, Apple and Fruit Committee


The next annual general meeting will be held from March 10-12, 2020 in Ottawa.

If latest news: 
Check if it is latest news (for "Latest News" page)
Publish date: 
Saturday, March 9, 2019

Click to leave a comment

For security purposes, please confirm you are not a robot!


Vineland names new CEO

Dr. Ian Potter has been named the new CEO of the Vineland Research and Innovation Centre, effective April 1, 2019.  He comes from senior leadership roles with the National Research Council (NRC) and Alberta Innovates – Technology Futures (AITF).

Advisory group for Ontario Ag minister is named

Fifteen volunteers have been named to the Ontario agriculture minister’s advisory group, including representatives for apples, grapes and tomatoes. Chris Van de Laar, the 2019 Grape King, is one of those volunteers.

Lisa Jenereaux named IFTA president

Nova Scotian apple grower Lisa Jenereaux has taken on the role of president of the International Fruit Tree Association for the next two years. She’s supported by her family operation, Spurr Bros., based at Melvern Square.  

Mastronardi Produce teams with John Paul DeJoria

Mastronardi Produce has teamed up with John Paul DeJoria to make quality, flavourful produce more widely accessible. The concept? To develop advanced high-density farming systems for underserved markets around the globe.

2019 Passion for Produce participants announced

The Canadian Produce Marketing Association (CPMA) has announced 15 winning participants for the 2019 ‘Passion for Produce’ program at this year’s convention and trade show in Montreal. Kara Badder is one of eight women nominated to attend.