CHC honours Murray Porteous

Murray Porteous in his apple orchard near Simcoe, Ontario. Photo by Glenn Lowson.

Murray Porteous, a past-president of the Canadian Horticultural Council (CHC) was honoured at the 97th annual general meeting in Halifax with the Doug Connery Award. Since 2012, this award has been given in the name of Manitoba vegetable grower Doug Connery who made giant contributions to the labour file before an untimely passing.  


In the same vein, Porteous was honoured for his unwavering commitment to the horticultural industry. He has made his mark near Simcoe, Ontario growing asparagus, apples, pears and sour cherries under the name of Lingwood Farms Ltd.  


Along with Schuyler Farms Ltd., Lingwood Farms owns and operates the Norfolk Cherry Company Ltd. growing and packing sour cherries. Porteous was an early adopter of high-density apple orchards and was one of the first to adopt variable rate fertilizer applications. He saw the benefits of Harvista, a new pre-harvest technology for apples, with on-farm demonstrations.


His many chairmanships – including Agricorp, Ontario Fruit and Vegetable Growers’ Association, Asparagus Farmers of Ontario, Ontario Tender Fruit Growers, Ontario Apple Growers – and others attest to his leadership skills.  


Most recently, Porteous has advocated for filming the personal stories of seasonal agricultural workers in Canada. The result is that CHC will officially launch the 30-minute documentary titled “Heartbeat: A celebration of international farm workers” at a March 20 event in Ottawa.


Timing of this award to Porteous in the same month as the video launch could not be better. Awards are a brief moment to savour the most meaningful relationships before another growing season springs to life. 



If latest news: 
Check if it is latest news (for "Latest News" page)
Publish date: 
Sunday, March 10, 2019

Click to leave a comment

For security purposes, please confirm you are not a robot!


Vineland names new CEO

Dr. Ian Potter has been named the new CEO of the Vineland Research and Innovation Centre, effective April 1, 2019.  He comes from senior leadership roles with the National Research Council (NRC) and Alberta Innovates – Technology Futures (AITF).

Advisory group for Ontario Ag minister is named

Fifteen volunteers have been named to the Ontario agriculture minister’s advisory group, including representatives for apples, grapes and tomatoes. Chris Van de Laar, the 2019 Grape King, is one of those volunteers.

Lisa Jenereaux named IFTA president

Nova Scotian apple grower Lisa Jenereaux has taken on the role of president of the International Fruit Tree Association for the next two years. She’s supported by her family operation, Spurr Bros., based at Melvern Square.  

Mastronardi Produce teams with John Paul DeJoria

Mastronardi Produce has teamed up with John Paul DeJoria to make quality, flavourful produce more widely accessible. The concept? To develop advanced high-density farming systems for underserved markets around the globe.

2019 Passion for Produce participants announced

The Canadian Produce Marketing Association (CPMA) has announced 15 winning participants for the 2019 ‘Passion for Produce’ program at this year’s convention and trade show in Montreal. Kara Badder is one of eight women nominated to attend.