Ken Forth honoured by Grape Growers of Ontario

L-R: Matthias Oppenlaender, chair, Grape Growers of Ontario, presents the 2019 Award of Merit to Ken Forth, flanked by Bill Schenck, vice-chair.

The Grape Growers of Ontario has honoured Ken Forth with the 2019 Award of Merit for his career-long commitment to farm labour. The broccoli grower has been a leading force in supporting Canadian farmers and the international farm workers who are so critical to horticulture’s success in Canada.


He is president of the Foreign Agricultural Resource Management Service (FARMS), a federal program that coordinates seasonal workers from Mexico and the Caribbean, and chair of the Labour Issues Coordinating Committee (LICC). 


A third-generation broccoli grower in Lynden, Ontario, he also serves as the chair of the Ontario Fruit and Vegetable Growers’ Association’s (OFVGA) labour section and sits on the trade committee of the Canadian Horticultural Council (CHC). He is a past president of both the OFVGA and CHC. 


In 2013, Forth was one of two Ontarians awarded the prestigious Badge of Honour for Long and Faithful Service by the Prime Minister of Jamaica for his dedicated service to the Farm Work Program. In addition, he will be awarded an Honorary PhD from the University of Guelph this year. 


Source: Grape Growers of Ontario, April 4, 2019 news release



If latest news: 
Check if it is latest news (for "Latest News" page)
Publish date: 
Monday, April 8, 2019

Click to leave a comment

For security purposes, please confirm you are not a robot!


New chair for Agricorp

The new chair of Agricorp's board of directors is fourth-generation carrot and onion farmer Jason Verkaik. He’s a past chair of the Ontario Fruit and Vegetable Growers’ Association.

Wageningen University president joins Syngenta board

Louise Fresco, president of Wageningen University and Research in the Netherlands joined Syngenta’s board of directors, effective April 12, 2019. The university is highly regarded world-wide for its research in horticulture and other agricultural sciences.

New executive director for AgScape

AgScape, the voice of agriculture in the classroom for Ontario, has hired Glenna Banda as its new executive director. She has headed The Children’s Foundation of Guelph and Wellington (CFGW) for the past nine years.

Ontario Tender Fruit and Fresh Grape election results

Phil Tregunno remains chair of the Ontario Tender Fruit Growers for 2019.

CPMA announces 2019-2020 board of directors

The Canadian Produce Marketing Association (CPMA) has elected a new executive slate for the next year. Global traveller Oleen Smethurst of Costco Wholesale Canada is the new chair.