CPMA announces 2019-2020 board of directors

Oleen Smethurst, new chair, CPMA is pictured with John Thwaites (L) and Mike Ecker (R).

Oleen Smethurst of Costco Wholesale Canada was elected chair of the CPMA at its annual general meeting recently in Montreal. First and second vice chairs are Davis Yung of Fresh Direct Produce Ltd., and Guy Milette of Courchesne Larose Ltee. respectively.

Smethurst has spent half of her 28-year career at Costco Wholesale Canada in produce, based in Ottawa, Ontario. She has grown through the ranks to the position of assistant vice-president, general merchandise manager for produce.

In a brief interview with The Grower, she said, “I’m following the path of innovation in the industry. Food safety will be a big topic going forward. I’m searching for the best flavours in everything. Flavour is the way to drive consumption and keep kids eating healthy.”  


The following directors were elected to the CPMA board:


·         Joe Sbrocchi, Ontario Greenhouse Vegetable Growers

·         Raffi Krikorian, Goodfood Market Corp.

·         Dan Martin, EarthFresh

·         Mimmo Franzone, Longo Bros. Fruit Markets Inc.

·         David Dube, Krown Produce

·         Robert Johnson, Country Grocer

·         Tom Coleman, Earthbound Farm

·         Brian Slagel, Sunkist Growers, Inc.

        The following members comprise the  2019-2020 CPMA Executive Committee:







Oleen Smethurst

Costco Wholesale Canada


Past Chair

Les Mallard

Fyffes North America Inc.


1st Vice Chair

Davis Yung

Fresh Direct Produce Ltd.


2nd Vice Chair

Guy Milette

Courchesne Larose Ltée.


Executive Committee Member

Mario Masellis

M.L. Catania Co. Ltd.


Executive Committee Member

Colin Chapdelaine

Star Group / BC Hot House Foods Inc.



      For a complete list of all CPMA board members, visit www.cpma.ca


      Source: Canadian Produce Marketing Association, April 11, 2019 news release




If latest news: 
Check if it is latest news (for "Latest News" page)
Publish date: 
Sunday, April 14, 2019

Click to leave a comment

For security purposes, please confirm you are not a robot!


Ontario fruit and vegetable growers re-elect board chair

Grape grower Bill George Jr. will serve a second one-year term. He and his wife Lesliann grow 160 acres of wine grapes in the Niagara region.


Pinder Dhaliwal continues to lead BC Fruit Growers

Oliver cherry grower Pinder Dhaliwal will continue as president of the 400-member strong BC Fruit Growers’ Association.The annual general meeting was held February 11-12 in Kelowna.

Vineland appoints new head of automation

Hussam Haroun has joined Vineland Research and Innovation Centre as director of automation, overseeing artificial intelligence and digital agriculture technologies. 

New vegetable crops specialists in Ontario

Horticulture will be bolstered in southwestern Ontario with the hiring of Cassandra Russell and Andrew Wylie. They will be based in Ridgetown.  

Nova Scotia Fruit Growers elect new president

At the annual general meeting of the Nova Scotia Fruit Growers’ Association, members elected a new president. Peter Eisses, Centreville takes the reins of a sector that grows 4,200 acres in the Annapolis Valley.