Mike Ecker, winner of CPMA Lifetime Achievement Award

Mike Ecker, the energetic and enthusiastic president of the Vineland Growers’ Co-operative based at Jordan Station, Ontario, is the 2020 recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Canadian Produce Marketing Association (CPMA). The announcement was made at a virtual gathering of the CPMA Board of Directors and past chairs at a semi-annual meeting in mid-September.  


Ecker has dedicated his entire career, spanning 45 years to date, serving the produce industry at the Vineland Growers’ Co-operative, Jordan Station, Ontario. It’s the longest continually run co-operative in Ontario, having been established 107 years ago in 1913.


In his role as president, he manages relationships with more than 300 grower members to facilitate a strong cooperative that works as a cohesive unit in the marketing of fresh fruit to retail chains. He is also an appointee to the Vineland Research and Innovation Stakeholders Committee, working with the Vineland Research Centre to facilitate consultation and information exchange among all stakeholder groups.


Beyond day-to-day duties, Ecker currently serves on the CPMA Board of Directors and was previously chair of the CPMA Government Issue Management Committee (CGIM). He has also served as the president of the Board of Directors of the Ontario Produce Marketing Association (OPMA), and as a director on the Agricultural Adaptation Council (AAC).


He has also served as a member of the Advisory Committee to the Ontario Tender Fruit Marketing Board.


“Mike is incredibly deserving of the CPMA Lifetime Achievement Award, not only for his achievements at the Vineland Growers Co-operative, but in particular for the thousands of hours he has contributed in volunteer positions over his career,” said Ron Lemaire, CPMA president. “His commitment to the growth and development of the industry continues to leave a lasting impression with everyone he meets.”


 CPMA members can learn more about the history of the CPMA Lifetime Achievement Award, including a complete list of previous winners, in theProduce + membership directory on community.cpma.ca.


Source:  Canadian Produce Marketing Association September 17, 2020 news release


If latest news: 
Check if it is latest news (for "Latest News" page)
Publish date: 
Friday, September 18, 2020

Click to leave a comment

For security purposes, please confirm you are not a robot!


Vineland appoints new chair

Karen Belaire takes over as chair of the Vineland Research and Innovation Centre for a two-year term.

The Grower wins three awards

The Canadian Farm Writers’ Federation has honoured The Grower in the categories of photography and electronic audio (podcasts) in its first-ever virtual awards.

Soil fertility specialist appointed in Ontario

Dr. Tejendra Chapagain has been hired by the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs to work with horticultural farmers on cover crops and soil fertility matters. He brings global experience in Nepal and Japan to the role as well as diverse field experience in Canada. 

DRC announces leadership changes

The Fruit and Vegetable Dispute Resolution Corporation has announced that Luc Mougeot will become the new president and CEO on January 1, 2021. He will replace the retiring Fred Webber, who has held the role since 2011. 

OPMA welcomes two new board members

The Ontario Produce Marketing Association has two new board directors:  Fiona McLean, Del Fresco Produce and Michael Wexler, the Oppenheimer Group. They will serve a three-year term.