Leonard Pennachetti named to Order of Canada

Raise a glass of Riesling to Len Pennachetti, co-founder of Cave Spring Vineyard. At the close of 2020, the Governor-General named him to the Order of Canada, citing “his key role in developing the Ontario wine industry and for fostering tourism in the Niagara Peninsula region.”


It's a well deserved honour after learning the trade from the ground up. He’s pruned and tied grapevines along with his father and grandfather, putting deep roots into the Beamsville Bench. The Cave Spring Vineyard was founded in 1974. Four years later, they made their first vinifera plantings of Riesling and Chardonnay.


A pivotal decision was partnering with winemaker Angelo Pavan and building a winery in Jordan. On The Twenty Restaurant was opened in 1993, Inn On The Twenty opened in 1996, and a new spa facility was added in 2003. A local landmark, the Jordan House tavern and hotel was renovated in 2005. 


Pennachetti has been a driving force for the entire grape and winemaking region, serving as president and chair of the Vintners Quality Alliance from 1994 to 2005. He has also served as a director of the Wine Council of Ontario, now known as Ontario Craft Wineries, and of the International Riesling Foundation. 


Source:  Canada Newswire December 30, 2020 news release

If latest news: 
Check if it is latest news (for "Latest News" page)
Publish date: 
Thursday, December 31, 2020

Click to leave a comment

For security purposes, please confirm you are not a robot!


Luci Faas is one of 10 Women in Produce nominees

After two years of research and pilots, Luci Faas was successful in identifying a home-compostable cucumber wrap for Nature Fresh Farms, Leamington, Ontario. The Canadian Produce Marketing Association is honouring her as one of 10 Women in Produce nominees. 

Minor use coordinator announced for Ontario

Joshua Mosiondz will be joining the Horticulture Technology unit of Ontario’s ag ministry, effective immediately. 


CPMA announces new board

The Canadian Produce Marketing Association announces its 2021 board of directors.  At the April 28th board meeting, Guy Milette of Courchesne Larose Ltée will assume the role as chair for 2021/2022.

CHC announces award winners at virtual AGM

The Canadian Horticultural Council recognized Quebecer Jocelyn St-Denis and Ontarian Hector Delanghe for their outstanding contributions to the sector. 

Passion for Produce participants announced

The Canadian Produce Marketing Association has announced 20 participants for the Passion for Produce program to be delivered virtually around Fresh Week in April.