OPMA welcomes seven new board directors

Dan Tukendorf, program manager of the Ontario Fruit and Vegetable Growers’ Association, is one of seven new board members on the OPMA board.

The Ontario Produce Marketing Association (OPMA) announces the appointment of seven new board members at its Annual General Meeting (AGM) held on June 9, 2021. The newly elected directors will serve three-year terms from 2021 to 2024.


The directors joining the OPMA’s board are: Ryan Goad from Loblaw Companies; Dan Tukendorf from the Ontario Fruit and Vegetable Growers’ Association; Madison Hopper from Equifruit; Andrew George from EarthFresh Farms. Marc Wall from Sandy Shore Farms; Amanda Knauff from Taylor Farms; and Matthew Quiring from Nature Fresh Farms.


Ryan Goad is the senior category director of Fresh Procurement at Loblaw Companies. Goad has 17 years of experience in Canadian retail produce ranging from store-level operations and employee training/development, as well as 12 years of experience in produce procurement.


Dan Tukendorf is the program manager of the Ontario Fruit and Vegetable Growers’ Association. His career has spanned across the produce industry value chain. Past roles have included farming vegetables and growing floral crops, quality assurance inspection, retail grocery produce procurement, and category management.


Madison Hopper is the marketing manager for Equifruit, the Canadian market leader in Fairtrade bananas. She has extensive board experience, most notably serving on the board of Fairtrade Canada for three years. She currently serves on the OPMA’s Young Professionals Network Committee as the secretary.


Andrew George got his introduction to the produce world by spending summers sorting, grading and hauling potatoes at the old EarthFresh production facility on Browns Line. Currently, with eight years experience, he is now leading the Canadian Sales Team as the senior director of sales at EarthFresh Farms.


Marc Wall is the vice president of sales and marketing at Sandy Shore Farms. He joined the family business in 2013 and assumed his current role leading sales and marketing programs in 2018. He also serves on the board of the Asparagus Farmers of Ontario and the Agriculture Advisory Board of Norfolk County.


Amanda Knauff detoured from the CPG world into the produce industry three years ago, starting as a business development manager for Taylor Farms, where she built a sales and marketing strategy for the Canadian marketplace.  Recently, Taylor Farms bought a facility in Vaughan and she is now director of sales leading a local Ontario team.


Matt Quiring is the director of sales at Nature Fresh Farms. He has spent more than 10 years in the greenhouse farming sector developing smart business strategies and fostering sales partnerships.


The seven Directors retiring from the board are: Sarah Taylor from Gambles Produce; Chris Streef from Streef Produce; Frank Spagnuolo from Loblaw Companies; Carleigh White from WalMart Canada; Jason Verkaik from Carron Farms; Sarah Marshall from the Ontario Tender Fruit Growers’ Association; and Fiona McLean from DelFresco Produce.


In addition, three current Directors whose terms had ended were voted back onto the Board: Steve Moffat from North American Produce Buyers; Adam Donikian from Sobeys; and Julian Sarriano from Fresh Taste.


Source:  Ontario Produce Marketing Association June 10, 2021 news release

If latest news: 
Check if it is latest news (for "Latest News" page)
Publish date: 
Friday, June 11, 2021
Home page latest news order: 

Click to leave a comment

For security purposes, please confirm you are not a robot!


New directors elected to DRC

The Fruit and Vegetable Dispute Resolution Corporation has announced that new directors were elected to the board at its annual general meeting held virtually from June 2-4, 2021. Representation is broad from Canada, the United States, Mexico and Chile.

Senator Rob Black named 2021 Produce Champion of the Year

The Canadian Produce Marketing Association names Ontario Senator Rob Black as 2021 Produce Champion for his efforts bringing industry issues to the forefront on Parliament Hill. 

BC Blueberry Council board elects new chair

Dalbir Benipal is the new chair of the BC Blueberry Council, representing 600 growers in the province. He’s the first Indo-Canadian to be elected to the role.

Canadian Produce Person of the Year honoured

Larry McIntosh, recently retired as president and CEO of Peak of the Market for 27 years, is this year’s winner of the Canadian Produce Person of the Year.  A virtual event is to be held July 21, 2021 when Tom Karst, editor of The Packer and Ron Lemaire, president of the Canadian Produce Marketing Association present the award.  

Peak of the Market appoints new CEO

A Manitoba household name, Peak of the Market, has appointed a new CEO to carry forward the marketing strategies for more than 100 different varieties of locally grown produce.  She’s Pamela Kolochuk, most recently the company’s chief financial officer.