Michelle Broom

The Ontario Produce Marketing Association is welcoming Michelle Broom as its new president. The Australian brings a wealth of international experience to the leadership role.

On opening day of the Canadian Greenhouse Conference, A.M.A. Plastics Ltd. announced its name change to A.M.A. Horticulture Inc. to better reflect the company’s mission. The Kingsville, Ont. supplier has been in business since 1982.

September is a great time to visit the Grey Roots museum and archives to see their interactive apple exhibit that just opened. It includes the cover photo of the October issue of The Grower, celebrating the 38th season of Jamaican Stedley Stephenson. 

Dr. Warren Jestin

The Vineland Research and Innovation Centre has appointed Warren Jestin as the new chair of the board. He replaces former federal agriculture minister Lyle Vanclief. Jestin was formerly chief economist at Scotiabank until his retirement in 2016. 

First place and congratulations to the OFVGA’s website ‘The Grower.’  The Canadian Farm Writers’ Federation recognized media excellence at its 2018 annual conference and awards competition on September 22 in Winnipeg. 

Ontario Premier Doug Ford, second from right, with Rick Nicholls, MPP Chatham-Kent Leamington, left; Monte McNaughton, MPP Lambton-Kent-Middlesex and Minister of Infrastructure; and Ernie Hardeman, Minister of Agriculture.

Ontario will hold the line on further raises to the minimum wage currently at $14/hour. And a new natural gas program should mean lower heating and fuel costs for fruit and vegetable producers. Premier Doug Ford made the natural gas announcement at the International Plowing Match.

Polymer Logistics’ Canadian profile in reusable containers for transport and merchandising systems just got a boost with the appointment of Eric Biddiscombe.  His long and broad tenure with Loblaw Companies gives him the ‘street creds’ to grow the Canadian arm of the company.

Alex McKay and Jordan McKay

Brothers Alex and Jordan McKay have won the 2018 Ontario Outstanding Young Farmer competition. They will compete at the national competition in Winnipeg from November 29 to December 2.