Skip to main content
Marcus Janzen
Marcus Janzen
March 07, 2024

The Fruit and Vegetable Growers of Canada (FVGC) wrapped up its Annual General Meeting in Ottawa unveiling a new theme for the year ahead: "A Fresh Approach - Innovate, Advocate, Cultivate." This theme underscores the organization's commitment to innovation, advocacy, and cultivation of industry growth and success. The AGM, held from March 5-7, served as a pivotal moment for FVGC, introducing new leadership, embarking on a governance review, and laying the groundwork for a new strategic plan.


The transition to new leadership was a key highlight, with Jan VanderHout passing the presidential baton to Marcus Janzen. "Our theme, 'A Fresh Approach,' is a testament to our evolving organization. I am honoured to have been part of this journey and excited to see Marcus lead us with fresh ideas and a strong vision," said VanderHout.


Marcus Janzen, the newly elected president, is poised to steer FVGC through this transformative phase. "Adopting a fresh approach is crucial for our growth. We're not just innovating in how we operate; we're advocating more fiercely for our members and cultivating new strategies to enhance our industry's vitality," Janzen remarked.


The AGM celebrated the contributions of individuals who embody the spirit of innovation and dedication. Beth Connery and Brenda Simmons were honoured with the FVGC Outstanding Achievement Award, while Mary Kay Sonier received the Honorary Life Member Award. Alvin Keenan and Glen Lucas were both presented with the Doug Connery Award, further highlighting the evening's recognition of excellence and commitment. FVGC staff member, Bev Appleby, was honoured for her dedication to the association and her steady guidance and support during a time of leadership transition. 

The newly elected Board members include:

   •  President - Marcus Janzen

   •  1st Vice President - Jocelyn Gibouleau

   •  2nd Vice President and Finance Chair – David Hoekstra

   •  Past President - Jan VanderHout

   •  Director, British Columbia - Deep Brar

   •  Director, British Columbia - Jason Smith

   •  Director, Atlantic - Patricia Bishop

   •  Director, Atlantic - Gerald Dykerman

   •  Director, Ontario - Alison Robertson

   •  Director, Ontario - Quinton Woods

   •  Director, Prairies - Beth Connery

   •  Director, Quebec - Pascal Forest


Source:  Fruit & Vegetable Growers of Canada March 7, 2024 news release



Standard (Image)
If latest news
Check if it is latest news (for "Latest News" page)

Add new comment

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and email addresses turn into links automatically.
Enter the characters shown in the image.
Submitted by Karen Davidson on 7 March 2024