Marie-Claude Bibeau retains role as ag minister

The Hon. Marie-Claude Bibeau has been given the nod by Prime Minister Trudeau to continue in her role as minister of agriculture and agri-food. In the recent federal election, she  beat her nearest rival, a Bloc Québécois contender, by 3,500 votes in her Québec riding of Compton-Stanstead. 

“We look forward to continuing our productive relationship with Minister Bibeau,” said Mary Robinson, president of the Canadian Federation of Agriculture (CFA). “We have worked closely with the Minister throughout her tenure and the COVID-19 pandemic, and are now looking forward to collaborating to ensure that Canadian agriculture can serve as a powerful economic engine for Canada's recovery and an impactful ally in the fight against climate change.”


“During the recent election, CFA has made the priorities of Canadian farmers very clear: leverage agriculture's environmental benefits, provide increased funding for the Next Policy Framework and invest in critical infrastructure requirements, among others,” 


The CFA hopes that the new government works collectively with our sector to ensure Canadian agriculture fulfills its potential in contributing to Canada’s overall economy, meeting Canada’s food security needs and helping Canada fight climate change. Pre-pandemic, Agri-Food employed one in eight Canadians and contributed $140 billion to Canada's GDP, and farmers are eager to help drive Canada's economic recovery from COVID-19.


Other significant appointments that impact horticulture include:


  • Hon. Steven Guilbeault, minister of environment and climate change
  • Hon. Jean-Yves Duclos, minister of health
  • Hon. Seamus O’Regan, minister of labour
  • Hon. Carla Qualtrough, minister of employment, workforce development and disability inclusion
  • Hon. Gudie Hutchings, minister of rural economic development
  • Hon. Omar Alghabra, minister of transport 


 Source:  Canadian Federation of Agriculture October 26, 2021 news release

If latest news: 
Check if it is latest news (for "Latest News" page)
Publish date: 
Tuesday, October 26, 2021
Home page latest news order: 

Click to leave a comment

For security purposes, please confirm you are not a robot!


Order of Canada appointments honour agricultural leaders

The Governor General appointed three members of the agricultural community as Members of the Order of Canada on December 29, 2021. They include Ken Knox, a former deputy minister of agriculture for Ontario, and Hazel and John Robinson, agricultural leaders in Prince Edward Island.

CanadaGAP announces technical advisory committee for 2022

Chaired by Beth Pattillo, this volunteer committee serves a technical advisory role to the CanAgPlus board of directors. Its role is to review proposed updates to the CanadaGAP food safety manuals.

Ontario Apple Growers re-elect chair and vice-chair

At the December meeting of the board of directors, Cathy McKay was re-elected as chair of the Ontario Apple Growers. She is joined by Brian Rideout as vice-chair.

OPVG announce vice-chairs

Ontario Processing Vegetable Growers announce that Ron VanDamme is first vice-chair and Chris Stewart is second vice-chair. The sector had a farmgate value of $97.8 million in 2020.

CanadaGAP participants elect new directors

At the annual general meeting of CanAgPlus, elections were held for the board of directors. Newly elected members will serve a two-year term until December 2023.