OPVG announce vice-chairs


The Board of Directors for the Ontario Processing Vegetable Growers elected their vice chairs for 2022: Ron VanDamme as 1st vice chair and Chris Stewart as 2nd vice chair. The Board also welcomes director Tracy Gubbels who was elected in District 2 to serve a two-year term. Acclaimed directors are Dan Froese from District 3, and Ron VanDamme and Ryan Leclair both from District 1. 


“We appreciate Ron’s and Chris’ commitment to serve as vice chairs. We are also pleased to welcome Tracy to the Board. We are confident the Board will continue serving the growers well with purposeful leadership and success,” stated Dave Hope, chair. 


Tracy has served on the District 2 Committee for several years and farms with her husband in the Mount Brydges area. The Board thanks outgoing director/vice chair Mike Lenders for his commitment to the Board and the processing vegetable sector. 


The Ontario Processing Vegetable Growers (OPVG) is a marketing board regulated under the Farm Products Marketing Act and represents nearly 350 Ontario processing vegetable growers producing crops such as tomatoes, onions, sweet corn, carrots, cucumbers, green & wax beans, lima beans, green peas, squash and pumpkin. Farm gate sales for our processing vegetable crops in 2020 was $97.8 million. OPVG members are family-owned and operated businesses, growing vegetable crops for Ontario food manufacturing companies. 


Source:  Ontario Processing Vegetable Growers December 17, 2021 news release

If latest news: 
Check if it is latest news (for "Latest News" page)
Publish date: 
Friday, December 17, 2021
Home page latest news order: 

Click to leave a comment

For security purposes, please confirm you are not a robot!


Order of Canada appointments honour agricultural leaders

The Governor General appointed three members of the agricultural community as Members of the Order of Canada on December 29, 2021. They include Ken Knox, a former deputy minister of agriculture for Ontario, and Hazel and John Robinson, agricultural leaders in Prince Edward Island.

CanadaGAP announces technical advisory committee for 2022

Chaired by Beth Pattillo, this volunteer committee serves a technical advisory role to the CanAgPlus board of directors. Its role is to review proposed updates to the CanadaGAP food safety manuals.

Ontario Apple Growers re-elect chair and vice-chair

At the December meeting of the board of directors, Cathy McKay was re-elected as chair of the Ontario Apple Growers. She is joined by Brian Rideout as vice-chair.

CanadaGAP participants elect new directors

At the annual general meeting of CanAgPlus, elections were held for the board of directors. Newly elected members will serve a two-year term until December 2023. 

Fresh Vegetable Growers of Ontario elect two new directors

Root vegetable grower Quinton Woods and garlic grower Joann Chechalk were elected to the board of directors at the association’s annual general meeting.