Brian Gilroy, president, Canadian Horticultural Council

Halifax hosted the annual general meeting of the Canadian Horticultural Council from March 5-7, 2019.  Ontario apple grower Brian Gilroy remains president while Ontario greenhouse cucumber grower Jan VanderHout moves into the vice-president’s role.

Mary Robinson is the new president of the Canadian Federation of Agriculture, stepping up as the first female president in the organization’s 84-year history.  The Prince Edward Islander is joined by Keith Currie, Ontario and Chris van den Heuvel, Nova Scotia.

Ontario’s sweet and hard cider competitions at the recent Ontario Fruit and Vegetable Convention were hotly contested with some well-known entrants and some new names. Larissa Osborne, market and production analyst for Ontario Apple Growers, serves samples. 

Terri Stewart, director, science and regulatory affairs, for chemistry, CropLife Canada

CropLife Canada, the organization that represents crop protection manufacturers, has hired Terri Stewart for the role of director, science and regulatory affairs for chemistry. She brings significant expertise, leaving a 16-year career with the Pest Management Regulatory Agency.

At the 2019 Great Ontario-Hopped Craft Beer Competition, first place went to Muddy York Brewing Co and VQH Farms. To put this win into context, brothers Curtis and Joe VanQuaethem and cousin Jared Hevenor grew their first hop crop in 2014. They are consistent competitors, twinning with another brewery for second place.

Tom and Carol Chudleigh are surrounded by their family on the occasion of winning the Ayrsta Golden Apple Award.

Innovative apple grower Tom Chudleigh, who was instrumental in establishing pick-your-own orchards as a popular agri-tourism activity in Ontario, is the winner of this year’s Arysta Golden Apple Award. He shares the award with wife Carol and family. 

L-R: Bill George, chair, OFVGA; Ken Linington; Ken Forth, OFVGA labour section chair

Longtime horticultural labour issues advisor Ken Linington is the winner of this year’s Ontario Fruit and Vegetable Growers’ Association Award of Merit. He was honoured at the OFVGA annual banquet in Niagara Falls, February 19, 2019.